Britain – Saturday – An overview

Reporting from the 2016 British Grand Prix, Silverstone, UK


Hamilton topped the timesheets yet again this morning at Silverstone after red flags were waved following a wipeout from Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson.

The dampened track quickly dried as Force India’s Sergio Perez tentatively ventured out on dry tyres, fifteen minutes into the session.

However, most of the events that took place over the hour were overshadowed by Ericsson’s crash, as he hit his left-rear wheel on the edge of the curb, sending him into the tyre wall. Luckily, Ericsson was able to exit the car unharmed, although had to attend the hospital for precautionary medical checks so was unable to take part in qualifying, however his car did not fare so well, with three of the four wheels were hanging off the car.

Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson suffered from a crash, putting him out of FP3 and Qualifying.

Luckily, the session was able to restart, with a mere five minutes left. This saw a flurry of cars come out onto the track, attempting to set faster and faster lap times. Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg was unable to catch teammate Lewis Hamilton, with only 0.063s between the two drivers. The two Red Bull’s of Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen followed, within a second of Hamilton.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel followed, with teammate Kimi Raikkonen in ninth. Between the two were Williams’ Valtteri Bottas, McLaren’s Fernando Alonso and Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg. Following Raikkonen was Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz to complete the top ten drivers.

At the end of the session, Vettel slowed and reported gearbox problems with his car. He now has received a five-place grid penalty as he has had to have a new gearbox installed in his car.

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 3.01.56 pm

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 3.02.04 pm


Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton has secured pole position for his home Grand Prix tomorrow at Silverstone, three-tenths faster than teammate Nico Rosberg, who has qualified front-row on the grid, alongside Hamilton. Red Bull’s Max Verstappen completes the top three, with teammate Daniel Ricciardo securing fourth.

Despite the first two of his times in Q3 being deleted due to exceeding track limits, Hamilton managed to put in a quick lap with seconds to go to secure himself a first place spot on the grid.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen finished fifth, with teammate Sebastian Vettel sixth, but set to drop to eleventh place after he received a grid penalty following a gearbox change. Williams’ Valtteri Bottas qualified seventh on the grid, followed by Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz and Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg and McLaren’s Fernando Alonso following their times being discounted in Q3 after they exceeded track limits during the lap.

Q1 saw McLaren’s Jenson Button’s hopes dashed at the last minute as Renault’s Kevin Magnussen and Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat set fast enough lap times to knock Button out of Q2, as Button set helpless in the pits as his team attempted to fix a loose wing.

As well as Button, Renault’s Jolyon Palmer was knocked out him Q1, as was Manor’s Rio Haryanto and Pascal Wehrlien and Sauber’s Felipe Nasr.

Hamilton managed to edge out on Rosberg yet again in Q2, whereas Raikkonen just managed to make it into Q3 after a spin just after Club corner and he ran wide off the track. He finally managed to make it into Q3, in sixth place.

A late improvement from from Sainz pushed Force India’s Sergio Perez out of Q3, with Williams’ Felipe Massa, Haas’ Romain Grosjean and Esteban Gutierrez and Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat joining him.

Hamilton yet again beat Rosberg in Q3, however his time was quickly discounted after stewards discovered that he had violated the track limits at Copse corner, sending him plummeting to the bottom of the leaderboard, the time ticking for him to set an official lap time. Luckily for the home crowd, Hamilton delivered and managed to pip Rosberg to the post, qualifying first at his home Grand Prix.

Penalties applied, the grid lines up as follows:

01) Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes AMG Petronas

02) Nico Rosberg – Mercedes AMG Petronas

03) Max Verstappen – Red Bull Racing

04) Daniel Ricciardo – Red Bull Racing

05) Kimi Raikkonen – Scuderia Ferrari

06) Valtteri Bottas – Williams

07) Nico Hulkenberg – Sahara Force India

08) Carlos Sainz – Toro Rosso

09) Fernando Alonso – McLaren Honda

10) Sergio Perez – Sahara Force India

11) Sebastian Vettel – Scuderia Ferrari

12) Felipe Massa – Williams

13) Romain Grosjean – Haas

14) Esteban Gutierrez – Haas

15) Daniil Kvyat – Toro Rosso

16) Kevin Magnussen – Renault Sport

17) Jenson Button – McLaren Honda

18) Jolyon Palmer – Renault Sport

19) Rio Harynato – Manor

20) Pascal Wehrlein – Manor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s