Lewis Hamilton takes pole at Spa – Qualifying Results

Lewis Hamilton will start the 2015 Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix from pole
position, after beating team mate Nico Rosberg by almost half a second in qualifying on Saturday. It was Hamilton’s 6th consecutive pole, a record only met by Michael Schumacher.

Behind the two Mercedes, Valtteri Bottas achieved third place on the grid for Williams, with Romain Grosjean grabbing a fantastic fourth place for Lotus. However, he will drop 5 places on the grid, thanks to penalties received after a gearbox change.

Sergio Perez grabbed a 5th for Force India, a season best, followed by Red Bull driver Daniel Riccardo. The other Williams driver, Felipe Massa, secured 7th place, and then Pastor Maldonado, with 8th place on the grid. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel got 9th place, a surprise and blow for the team, since he had stolen the victory in Hungary.

Kimi Raikkonen had a disappointing day, his qualifying ending in Q2, after technical issues forced him to bring his sick-sounding Ferrari to a halt approaching Turn 14. It has been announced today that Raikkonen will receive a 2 place grid penalty for a gearbox change, so he will now start in 16th position on the grid.

Jenson Button beat Fernando Alonso at McLaren, however both cars have had further engine changes for thF1 Blog - Spa - Alonsoe weekend, although this will not make a difference to their starting positions, after a grid penalty mandated by the stewards.
In Q2 Toro Rosso driver Max Verstappen chose not to run, preferring instead to save a set of tyres given his impending 10-place grid drop, while Raikkonen was left in 15th.

A disappointing day for Ferrari, after its cars starting in 9th and 16th positions proves a rather unusual result, and McLaren, with both drivers stuck at the back of the grid. Wether or not these unexpected results prove an exciting race, time will tell.

With several penalties taken into account, the grid will be as follows: Hamilton, Rosberg; Bottas, Perez; Ricciardo, Massa; Maldonado, Vettel; Grosjean, Sainz; Hulkenberg, Kvyat; Ericsson, Raikkonen; Nasr, Stevens; Merhi, Verstappen; Button and Alonso.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s